Principal Investigator

Rachelle Crosbie

Dr. Crosbie is a Professor in the Department of Integrative Biology & Physiology and holds a joint appointment in the Department of Neurology within the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. She is Vice-Chair of Graduate Education and Chair of the Master’s Program in Integrative Biology & Physiology.  Dr. Crosbie is Director of a NIH T32 Muscle Cell Biology, Pathogenesis, and Therapeutics training program for Ph.D. graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.  She is also Education Director within the Center for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy at UCLA.  Dr. Crosbie is a National Academies Education Scholar.  Her leadership and innovation were recognized with the UCLA Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award.  She is a member of the Molecular Biology Institute, Brain Research Institute, Center for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, and the Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.  She has received the Coalition Duchenne Lotus Award for Research and Education and she was selected as the College of Letters and Science Dean’s Marshal.

Dr. Crosbie received her B.S. in Biochemistry at Texas A&M University with Departmental Honors for Excellence in Research. She was selected as the Distinguished Biochemistry Undergraduate.  She earned a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from UCLA in the laboratory of Professor Emil Reisler, Ph.D. in which she investigated the structural determinants of actin function.  She was one of a few graduate students who received departmental awards for both research and teaching accomplishments.  Dr. Crosbie was supported by the Robert G. Sampson Neuromuscular Disease Postdoctoral Fellowship from the Muscular Dystrophy Association during her postdoctoral training with Professor and Chair Kevin P. Campbell, Ph.D. HHMI Investigator at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine.  She received the Excellence in Postdoctoral Research Award at the University of Iowa.

Dr. Crosbie has served as a regular member of NIH Skeletal Muscle Emphasis Panel Study Section, the MDA Research Advisory Panel, and is a member of the Strykagen Scientific Advisory Board. Her research program is funded by R01 grants from NIH NIAMS and NHLBI as well as research grants from the MDA.